Taking the Day Off

Today, I feel like trash.

I have a million things on my to do list, but it’s already lunch time and I’ve gotten absolutely none of it done. And I know that won’t change.

So instead of suffering through to day, trying to force myself to do work when I really don’t feel like it, I’m going to take the day off.

I’m giving myself a break.

I’m going to go get a coffee and have some nice lunch and maybe even go for a swim.

I’m going to have a self care bonanza.

I’m going to look after myself, put my needs first, listen to my body and do what I need so that tomorrow I feel better and ready to tackle the dreaded to-do list.

And I think that’s okay. It’s important to give yourself a break when you need it, and to realise that if you aren’t feeling good then it’s really hard to put good things out into the world.

Taking time for yourself isn’t just okay, it’s necessary. And even though that is hard to accept, it’s something I’m working on learning.

Leave a Reply

