No Junk July: Week 2

After the semi-disaster of the first week of this challenge, I was super determined to make week two an absolute success. And I think I did a pretty good job.

If I had to rate it, I’d give myself a 9.9 out of ten. There were a couple of challenges, like intense dessert cravings after the shops had closed and I had nothing but peanut butter ice cream in the house, but I did some googling and found a great vegan fudge recipe that I could whip up with ingredients I already had. Plus it is actually a truly delicious snack.

I’ve also been having some cravings for chips and gravy, but I just made my own chips from whole potatoes and baked them in the oven. Super satisfying, and actually pretty healthy. I did have one moment when I ran out of potatoes, and I ended up eating some potato gems that I had in the freezer, but I checked the ingredients and they were made of 88% potato so I didn’t think it was too bad.

I am really glad that I’ve allowed myself to have dark chocolate throughout this challenge. Just a square or two after dinner is enough to feel like I’m not being deprived of all goodness during this month. On top of that, not having any super-sweet snacks has made 70% chocolate seem so much sweeter to me.

Hopefully the next week of the challenge will go just as well as this one! If you have any questions about my experience feel free to leave them in the comments below!

 

Leave a Reply

