I Quit My Book Club

I just wanted to write this quick post today to share with you my news – I have quit my book club.

Actually, I have quit both of them.

If I’m being honest with myself, I stopped going to the first book club I joined because I couldn’t be bothered reading two highly intellectual books each month on top of all my uni work and then giving up a Sunday to go talk to strangers about it.

My second book club was supposed to be an improvement on that. Brand new book club. One book a month. Very manageable.

But it very quickly turned into two books a month plus movies plus drinks on the weekend. That’s not what I signed up for.

All I wanted was to make some friends in Darwin, not to be stuck spending my time with 50 year old wine-mums.

Honestly, the book club was 0% fun and 100% trying to rearrange my schedule when times and locations got changed every five minutes. And 20% dealing with horrible jokes about our book (aka wine) club.

I hate wine.

The final straw came for me when the organiser of the group send me a really rude message on facebook telling me that is was a courtesy to the organiser of an event and other people attending to change my RSVP if I wasn’t coming – ‘thanks for your understanding’.

I don’t know where to start with this one. Maybe with the fact that she talked down to me, or acted like it was a fucking business transaction?

Or maybe with the fact that I have ALWAYS let everyone know if I couldn’t make it to an event.

I was so shitted by this message that I RSVP’ed not going to every single one of her events – including the three country music concerts that she invited the whole book club to, left the group, and blocked her on facebook.

I was D-O-N-E.

So for anyone who was enjoying my book club posts, I’m sorry, but I am so happy to not have to waste my time on people I don’t even really like. Book clubs are supposed to be fun, not make you feel awful and stressed!

If you want some more book-related posts, let me know in the comments and maybe I will do a monthly update on what I’ve read, or some reviews of my favourite books.

Thanks for reading this little rant – I hope it brightened your day!

Leave a Reply

