Final Thoughts on Money Saving May

As May comes to an end, I wanted to give you a final post about the experience, and summing up how it went for me. If you haven’t already, you can check out my other posts about Money Saving May here, here, here and here.

I would split my experience with this challenge into three parts. The first week went pretty well, though I made some purchases without thinking (looking at you, vegetable peeler).

After this came phase two, when a string of accidental purchases, like food at a market, and inability to resist really good sales led to me buying more things than I would like to admit.

Once I brought myself out of the mindset of shopping the sales I was actually able to stick to my goal of only buying food and necessities.

Although this challenge hasn’t made a major change to my savings account, I think it was a good way to change my mindset towards shopping and to help me change my habits in a way that will stick.

Hopefully over time I can maintain some of the no-spending habits I picked up in this challenge, and my bank account will be thanking me for it.

Leave a Reply

