Mental Health Mondays: An Open Letter to My Anti-Depressants

Look, I know we don’t talk much unless I can’t find you and I’m hunting through my drawers searching for you, but I thought we should talk.

I wanted to say thank you for all the stuff you do for me. For helping me get out of bed every day. For letting me sleep at night. For giving me that little push to help me get out there and live my life.

I’m glad that you are always there for me, and support me in the ways that my silly old brain can’t.

I know we have had some tough times together. We didn’t quite get along when we first met, and even after that I wasn’t sure you were the kind of friend I wanted. But I think we’re in a good place now. We seem to get along really well, and though you might not be the best friend a girl could every hope for, you’re definitely the best so far.

I just wanted to mention a few things before I go. That whole dry mouth thing you do isn’t necessary, so maybe you could back off on that a little. Spend some more time on yourself! And the ‘gas in the stomach’ you warned me of. I really should have listened to you… And maybe if you could decrease the drowsiness just a tad. That would be really great.

Anyway, I’ll let you get back to sorting out my brain chemistry, and I’ll see you later tonight.

Love Sarah xx

P.S. If you could let me have more than one drink before getting completely wasted that would be wonderful too.

 

Leave a Reply

