Money Saving May Challenge!

Welcome to May everyone!

With the start of a new month rolling around, I thought it would be the perfect time to take on a little 30 day challenge for myself – and for you to read about!

In the past I’ve taken part in Buy Nothing New November, which was a great way to put away some money and save up for something I really wanted.

I wanted to do something similar to that this month, partly because saving money is always a good thing, and partly because I feel like I’m starting to spend money on things I don’t really need a little too often.

This month, I’m going to attempt to buy nothing new, and only spend money on necessities. This means that I can still pay rent and bills and buy groceries, but I can’t buy anything that is brand new. If I do desperately need something like a new bag or some wrapping paper then I will try to buy something second-hand, repurpose things I already have, or make it myself.

The Rules:

  • no purchasing new or unused items
  • no buying takeaway meals
  • only spending money on rent and bills
  • only eating food from the grocery store
  • allowed to buy personal essentials like toothpaste, shampoo etc.

I am giving myself a few allowances, to make sure that I am still enjoying life and am able to have fun. Firstly, I am not going to cancel my subscription services, so I will still have netflix and frankie mag delivered to me. I am letting myself buy two iced coffees per weekend (one for me and one for my partner), which is our weekly tradition, and I don’t want to make him pay for all of them.

Ideally this challenge will give my savings account a nice little boost, and it will help me be more mindful of my spending.

Either way, I’ll update you guys in about a week to let you know how the challenge is going!

1 thought on “Money Saving May Challenge!”

Leave a Reply

