Mental Health Mondays: Saying Goodbye to My Psychologist

Even though my partner and I have lived in Darwin for more than four months now, I’ve still been in contact with my psychologist from Queensland during that time.

She would just give me a call every two or three weeks to check in on me and see how I was settling in and establishing a new support network up here.

The idea was always to help me transition to a new support work, and then eventually hand over and let my new therapist take charge of caring for me and my mental health.

And today was that day.

I knew that this was going to happen eventually, but still when we wrapped up today’s chat I felt a little bit sad. It was kind of like breaking up with someone, when you both know you need to move on – but slightly less dramatic!

You see, my psychologist knows more about me than almost everyone else in my life. She’s on the same level as my partner, but I also talk about him with her so she might have a leg up on him in this case.

She was there with me through all the challenges of living in Queensland, supported me when my partner had to go away for work or was just being a pain in the butt, and helped me prepare for our move up to Darwin.

I honestly don’t think that I would have been able to cope with life as an army wife without her.

I guess one of the hard things about ending my relationship with her is that no matter how much I know that I now have a support network up here in Darwin, I still have that fear that I could fall no matter how much I know someone will be there to catch me.

Whatever happens next, I know that I have people around me to look after me and support me, and I am incredibly grateful for all the people in my life that make it possible for me to be the best, happiest, and healthiest person I can be.

 

Leave a Reply

