Turning 21 and Teppanyaki

Like I’ve mentioned in a previous post, my partner’s birthday was this week, and I think I did a pretty good job of making it a special day for him. I thought I would just make this quick post to share what we did with you – and maybe inspire you to create a special day for you own partner’s birthday!

It started when he got up for work and I tried extra hard to make sure I mumbled that I love him during our early morning goodbye.

He was at work all day so I made sure to text him lots, asking about his day and sending kissy face emojis.

I also decided to write this blog post, so that he would have something special to enjoy today because I accidentally spoiled the surprise of his present a few weeks ago.

When he got home I handed him the tickets to Bass in the Grass, which is a local Darwin music festival that is happening in May and we both wanted to go to, which was his birthday present.

We then went and got milkshakes together, and then we went home so he could field happy birthday phone calls and I could get ready for dinner.

For his special birthday meal I took him to Go Sushi, which is a sushi train and teppanyaki restaurant in the city.

My partner was so surprised that we were dining in the teppanyaki section, because he thought that we would just be eating at the sushi train, but I told him I wanted to treat him to something really special.

Neither of us had ever been to a teppanyaki restaurant but it was seriously fun and delicious. Even though I did get hit in the face with a bowl and my partner spilt rice all over both of us, it was a perfect birthday experience.

After dinner he somehow found room for dessert, so we walked through the city for a bit to get him some ice cream.

By the time we made it back to the car I was falling asleep, absolutely exhausted from the day.

Although we didn’t do anything too fancy or extravagant, I know that my partner and I both had fun, and I think I did a good job of helping him enjoy his birthday.

2 thoughts on “Turning 21 and Teppanyaki”

  1. That sounds like such a wonderful, thoughtful and special day. I a firm believe that something does not have to be extravagant or expensive to be special. He sounds like a lucky man to have someone as thoughtful and loving as you. Loved this post! Looking forward to reading more!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

