What Ever Happened to Autumn?

Autumn is my favourite season. Always has been, always will be. Because of how much I love flowers and sunshine and baby animals and warm fresh air, people usually assume that Spring is where my heart lies, but as much as I have tried to change things, I get really bad hay fever and violently sneezing everyday is not my idea of a good time.

So Autumn had to be bumped up to the number one spot many years ago, and so it shall remain. Autumn was always a close second anyway, so it’s not like I have to force myself into loving it. I am just naturally drawn to the transitional seasons, and I love Autumn because I can see the world changing around me.

I love watching the leaves change colour and then stomping through them once they fall on the ground. I love when I get to start wearing jumpers every day after suffering through the horrible heat of an Australian summer. Being able to enjoy snuggling up inside in front of the heater and watching movies or indulging in big hearty meals full of Autumn veggies are my reward to handling the summer and the first half of the year.

But up here in Darwin, none of that happens.

It’s almost one month into Autumn and it’s still as hot as ever. It’s 24/7 heat and humidity – not exactly ideal Autumn weather. Now throw an almost daily tropical storm on top of that, the threat of cyclones, and an absolute statewide absence of any trees that actually shed their leaves, and you have a picture of what my Autumn is shaping up to be.

Hopefully the wet season will end soon, which means all the storms will finally go away and the humidity will ease, but the kind of traditional Autumn that I have been wanting all year long is never going to come. There will be no multicoloured leaves for this girl.

I guess in the meantime I will just have to try to enjoy all of the things I love about Autumn without the weather that is supposed to go with it. I can just turn the air conditioning up high and wrap myself up in some blankets to watch movies with my partner, and I can stock up on some campfire scented candles to get that woodsy scent in my house, and hopefully in a few years we will get moved back down south again and I will be able to have a classic Autumn experience.

 

If you have any ideas about how to enhance my Autumn experience in a tropical environment please let me know in the comments below! Are you having a similar struggle? Or are you reading this from the Northern Hemisphere where it’s Spring at the moment? 

Leave a Reply

