Military Spouse Tag!

I’ve really been loving doing tag posts lately, so I thought I’d put up another one. But don’t fear – this one is a lot more army wife specific! Let me know in the comments below if there are any other tag posts you want to see, or if there are any topics you want to hear more about. But for now, keep on reading to find about more about my army spouse experience.

1) How did you and your spouse meet?

We actually met on tinder! See my post all about it here.

2) How old were you when you two met?

I was 18 and my partner was 19.

3) How long have you been together?

We’ve been together for about a year and a half.

4) Where are you and your spouse originally from?

I was born and raised in Wagga Wagga, NSW. My partner was born in Sydney, lived in Melbourne for a few years, and then moved back to Sydney for his last year of high school. Then he joined the army!

5) How did you feel about him joining the military?

I didn’t know my spouse before he joined the army, but he did keep his job a secret from me when we first met, so it was still a surprise when I found out! I actually cried when he told me. I was just so overwhelmed, and I didn’t know much about the military apart from what I’d seen on tv or read about so I was worried about him and concerned that we wouldn’t be able to have a relationship. It really was a strange start!

6) Where are you and your spouse currently stationed?

We are currently living in Darwin, NT.

7) How long were you married when you had to go through your first separation?

As you know, we aren’t married, but we were separated for the first time when we had only been together officially for six weeks. This was voluntary though, as my partner was going on holiday to Europe for a month! Our first army related separation happened when we had been together for just under five months.

8) What is your favorite base so far?

Toowoomba was definitely my favourite place that we lived. Even though we were only there for seven months, I found a lot of places there that I loved and I was really starting to find my way around when we had to move again!
9) Do you think your spouse looks good in his uniform?

Of course I do! But then again, I think he looks good all the time.

10) Do you have a lot of military wife friends?

To be honest, I don’t have any military wife friends. I would have to say that the biggest misconception I had of army wife life was how welcoming and friendly the community of army spouses would be. Now, I haven’t had any bad experiences, but the issue is that I haven’t had many experiences at all. I’ve seen a few other army spouses in passing, but I’ve never really spent time with any of them. It was kind of challenging for me to move up to Darwin expecting that it would be really easy to meet people in a similar situation and make friends, and then have that not be true.

11) What is the hardest part of the military life?

There are so many things that are hard about military life and military spouse life, but I have written a whole post about it here if you want more details!

Thanks so much for reading! Don’t forget to leave me a comment down below telling me what kind of posts you would like to see more of!

Leave a Reply

