Fun in the Sun: Summer Tag Post

After posting about my first summer in Darwin, I thought I would indulge in a classic tag post and let you all know a little bit more about what I love about summer. All of these questions are going to be focused on my summer in Darwin, and will hopefully help you get to know me (and Darwin) a little bit better.

Question 1: What is the best part of summer time?

All of the fresh fruits that are available! I love so many things about summer, but if I had to pick my absolute favourite thing, then it is how many fruits are in season. I just love eating watermelon, or snacking on fresh nectarines. Not to mention all of the mangoes that grow up here in Darwin!

Question 2: Do you tan or burn?

I absolutely burn. I have been pale my entire life, and I would describe my complexion as a cross between porcelain and snow white. It takes approximately 0.2 seconds in the sun for me to start burning. No matter how much SPF I slather on if I am outside for more than half an hour I am definitely going to be turning into a lobster.

Question 3: Favourite summer nail polish?

This is such a weird fact to share, but I have really wrinkly, crinkly, old lady looking hands (even though I’m only 20), and any bright or pastel coloured nail polishes make it look a million times worse. This kind of limits me to reds and deep coloured polishes, but the middle of summer isn’t really the time to be rocking a deep purple nail. So this summer I’ve been sticking to Maybelline ColorShow in Power Red, which gives you a great fire engine red nail.

Question 4: Favourite summer drink/beverage?

My partner and I are absolutely addicted to iced coffee. It is our lifeblood. And with his time off work over Christmas we spent loads of time trying out lots of different iced coffees around Darwin. But if it’s a drink that I have specifically tried and loved this summer then I would have to say the pink granita from Max Brenner. It’s just a wonderful icy, fruity delight.

Question 5: Favourite summer clothing item?

After living in Darwin for about three days, I knew I needed to invest in more pairs of shorts. Now, buying shorts or pants of any kind has never been easy for me with my big hips and little waist, but I was lucky to find a hidden gem in Kmart of all places. I picked up a pair of white lace shorts for $20, and they fit like a dream. My favourite summer clothing item for sure.

Question 6: Favourite summer activity?

By far my favourite activity this summer has been swimming. My partner and I have been lucky enough to snag a house in Darwin that has a pool. It’s only small, but it is literally ten steps from our back door, and has been a life saver in the summer heat.

Let me know down below if you enjoyed this post! Would you like to see more tag posts like this? Leave me some suggestions!

Leave a Reply

