Hating the Humidity: The Story of My Life

I’ve never been the kind of person that can handle the heat well. It makes me grumpy, tired, and very snappy at any poor soul who happens to come into contact with me.

So when it was confirmed that I was going to be moving to Darwin with my partner, I knew it was going to be a challenge. I tried to prepare myself for the heat, to assemble my best summer clothes and get ready to spend a lot of time indoors under the cool breeze of air-conditioning.

What I was not prepared for was the humidity. Yes, I knew that the wet season meant storms. Yes, I knew that it would be a tropical climate. But not even the best imaginations in the world could have prepared me for the sauna that awaited me when I arrived in Darwin.

As my partner and I drove into Darwin we wound down the car windows to smell the ocean, but what we got was hot, thick air. To me, it felt like I was completely submerged in a horribly thick lukewarm bath.

Our first few days in Darwin were just as humid, and as I struggled to understand how human life could persist in a place where you could almost swim in the air, the humidity began to take its toll on my previously inland-residing body.

My hair frizzed harder than it had ever frizzed before.

I sweated in places I didn’t even know existed.

I had to change my skincare routine to cater for my new sunscreen/sweat soaked face.

My summer clothes just made me even stickier and my dresses blew up in the tropical winds.

I was, and still am, so hot I felt like I was melting.

But how do you deal with that horrible humidity, I hear you ask.

The simple answer is, I don’t.

My best method of surviving the humidity in Darwin is to just accept my suffering.

Yes, I may sweat off my make up while I’m still applying it. Sure, it takes my hair twice as long to dry. Okay, I have to change outfits at least once a day (which definitely adds to the laundry pile). But short of moving states, there is nothing that can be done to ease this humidity. For the foreseeable future, this is my fate.

Despite this permanent state of stickiness, I love my house, I love my partner, and I love living here, and for the time being I’m just going to have to invest in some water proof mascara.

Leave a Reply

