Why I Started Dates and Deployments

When my boyfriend first told me that he was moving to a new state, I was crushed. When he asked me to come with him, I was ecstatic. When I sat up on my phone late into the night looking for some army wife advice on blogs and forums, I was nervous.

There were very few blogs written from the perspective of other army spouses, and even though there were some great forums, what I really wanted was an in-depth view of one person’s life as an army spouse that could show me how their partner being in defence impacted on all aspects of their life and their relationship.

I was scared about what being an army wife meant, about how the experience would change me, about what my life would be like once I took this leap of faith to move far from my friends and family to be with a man I had only been with for six months.

Really, I was just searching for an idea of what my future would look like.

Believe me, there was no shortage of blogs just like this written from an American perspective, all about American men and women and their spouses, but I think there is quite a difference between the American notion of an army wife, and the Australian notion of an army wife.

To me, being an army wife is just about having a partner who just so happens to be in the defence force.

Now, this does mean that our relationship gets complicated by long or erratic hours, exercises, moving bases and a million other things that are part of the army life, but at the end of the day my partner and I are just two people who love each other, trying to take it one day at a time.

I started Dates and Deployments to show that being an army wife is not just about supporting your partner and their job, but it’s also about trying to create a normal relationship in-between all the hard stuff. And, if I’m being honest, it’s about having a place to complain a little bit too.

But no matter what my reasons for starting this blog are, I hope you enjoy this space, and get some laughs, advice, or cautionary tales from it.

Let me know in the comments if you are an army spouse too! What has your experience been like? I’d love to get to know you!

1 thought on “Why I Started Dates and Deployments”

  1. I hae been btowsing on-line moree than thrdee hours
    today, yett I never fond anny attention-grabbing article likke yours.
    Itโ€™s lovel pric suficient ffor me. In myy view, iff alll
    websitfe ownmers aand bloggvers made jjust rght conmtent
    as yyou probwbly did, the neet wull bbe a lott moore helpfrul thhan evsr before.
    Itโ€™s perfect timme too make a feew pplans forr the fuhture annd itโ€™s tikme too
    bbe happy. I have larn this post and iff I
    could I wish tto recommend youu few attention-grabbing tings oor suggestions.
    Perhap you ccan write subserquent artices relating to this
    article. I dessire to reawd even more thhings approximately it!
    I amm surde thnis parasgraph has touchedd aall thee iternet visitors, itts really really pleasaznt poece of writing oon building upp
    neww webpage. http://cspan.Co.uk/

    Like

Leave a Reply

